Halloween Fright with Savings

25 Oct

Our article this last week mentioned savings for Halloween.  Here’s a look at some of what we’ve been doing at our house.

Monster Bookmarks:

I have children in 1st and 3rd grade, so reading is an essential part of every day at our house.  My kids had a ton of fun putting together these MONSTER BOOKMARKS, that were extremely simple and cheap!  We made enough for both of their classes.  I used leftover printed paper from my DCWV (Die Cut with a View) value pack stack…which I love to purchase from Joann Fabric with one of my 40-50% off coupons! (If you aren’t getting your coupons, ask at checkout to be put on the mailing list!)  The stack lasts me more than a year! and easy paper crafts are abundant on the internet!

We also had fun making bat and mice silhouettes from Martha Stewart’s Halloween idea book.  Remember, print the template on your lowest ink setting and then trace onto construction paper.  Printing black mice on your printer could get very expensive!  I’ve also printed off some great candy and drink labels for my husband’s birthday party that falls just before Halloween.

I’ve found that glass jars in varying shapes and sizes serve as one of the best holiday decorations I can use again and again.  I find them at second hand stores, dollar stores, on clearance at Target, you name it, I’m always on the look out.  Give them a good clean, and then with fancy labels and colorful (or in this case, not so colorful) contents I can change the mood of a room.  Pastels for Easter, bright and cheery for birthdays, red for Christmas, it doesn’t take much, and you’ll get great ideas from most magazines who utilize the same style.

Hope things are gearing up for a great holiday!

Leave a Reply

